The ten pilot sites of GlobDiversity span four major terrestrial biomes and vary in size from 20 to 20,000 Km2. The sites are representative of a wide range of climate zones, altitude and latitude from tropical via temperate to sub-arctic, as well as a diversity of plant and animal life. Although not strictly a biome, wetlands play a major role in the regulation of other terrestrial ecosystems, providing connectivity with freshwater and marine environments
NameArea (Km2)LocationBiome
Kytalyk16,000Siberia, RussiaBoreal Taiga and Arctic Tundra
Toolik Lake20Alaska, USABoreal Taiga and Arctic Tundra
La Camargue1,930FranceWetlands
Bavarian National Park242GermanyTemperate/ Mediterranean forests
Laegern10SwitzerlandTemperate/ Mediterranean forests
Danum Valley438BorneoTropical/ sub-tropical rain forests
Lambir70BorneoTropical/ sub-tropical rain forests
Kruger National Park19,485South AfricaTropical/ sub-tropical savannah, shrublands
Udzungwa Mountains National Park1,990TanzaniaTropical / sub-tropical dry forest


Kruger National Park, South Africa

credits: ITC, T.Wang

The Kruger National Park is the oldest national park in Africa, established in 1898, and one of the 10 largest national parks in the world. The park is South Africa’s flagship conservation area and is regarded as one the best managed national parks in Africa. Stretching 350 km from north to south, and at most 60km in width, the Kruger National Park is located to the northeast of South Africa and is bordered to the east by Mozambique and to the north by Zimbabwe. The park is known for its diverse range of species: 336 trees, 49 fish, 34 amphibians, 114 reptiles, 507 birds and 147 mammals. Among the mammal species present in the park are the big five – lion, elephant, leopard, buffalo and rhino.

Temperate / Mediterranean forest


Boreal Taiga and Artic Tundra